gallery Travel blog goals 2016

goalsAs I write this, we are a little over two months into 2016. Every new year brings with it new hopes, promises and enthusiasm in each one of us, as we strive to be better than what we were.

In October 2015, I started this blog to be able to document my travel stories and share my love for travel and photography with people all around the world. So far, I am only few blogs old, but in the process, I have realized that I want to continue doing this and do it well. Therefore, this year, I have set out three major goals that will help me get better at the “art & science” of blogging and in turn make this blog much more engaging and fun for you, the readers.

1. “Content is King”- focus on it & own it!

It might sound cliched, but being a digital marketer myself, I am a big believer of this. Everything else is secondary, but content is something that will make my readers come back to my blog.

Firstly, I want to write the kind of stuff that I enjoy reading myself. I usually like to read blogs that kind of talk back to me. If a blog is all about the history of a place and the mundane regular stuff that is researched off the net, I just tend to scan through it. I like blogs that tell me the author’s experience, provide travel-related tips, and have a personal touch to it. If I have to read about the general history/details of a place, I would rather prefer going to credible sites and read it from there first hand, than reading a travel blog.

Secondly, my idea of blogging is not to paint a flowery picture of every place that I visit. For example, in one my recent trips to Kerala, my houseboat experience did not quite turn out the way I imagined it to be for several reasons. So, that’s exactly how I presented my point of view in my recent blog, rather than resorting to over-exaggeration, as it is one of the most sorted things to do in Kerala.It might be a different view from the others, but hey, you are reading my blog to read about my experience, right? I need to be honest to my readers.

2. Master my craft (Photography)

This is a no-brainer and again relates to my first point. As I write a travel blog, lot of times, I need good pictures to do the talking, so again “content is king”. I am still learning on the go, but this year I would love to pursue this hobby of mine a lot more seriously. Travel photography has its own challenges, but I really want to up my game this year. It would mean making friends with some good photographers :P. Ha! I am planning to enroll myself for some short courses, and of course I am constantly picking tips and tricks from all the resources online. Not just this, I constantly strive to gain a balance between quality travel experience and getting the perfect pictures. I guess this is every travel photographer’s dilemma! :S

3. Put my heart and soul into it!!

Okay, I can be a little dramatic at times! πŸ˜› But, all I want to say is, I really want to continue doing this. Being persistent, has been a challenge for me, forever! So, this is a very personal life goal, that this time I don’t stop doing this mid way. There, I said it! I put it out in writing for the whole world to see. I had read this somewhere, if you really want to achieve your goal, write it down some place, where you are going to see it everyday. So, I did. πŸ™‚

For starters, I want to write at least two blogs every month. I also want to look into the other aspects of blogging- like brushing my writing skills, keeping in mind good SEO (though this will not completely dominate the way I write), doing better at socializing my blogs, etc.

As a first step to this, I started with revamping the look and feel of my blog and rewrote the “About Me” section of my blog. I think this page is important as it talks about why I am here, what I want to achieve, and what I am going to focus on, while writing my travelogues.

I understand that this is not a one-time effort, but a continuous process. So far, it has been a great experience and I feel I am getting better with each blog. The learning and encouragement from fellow bloggers, family and friends alike, has made me believe that this is a worthy endeavor. πŸ™‚

 

 

 

3 comments

    • Thank you! I am happy you found them useful πŸ™‚ and thanks a lot for the nomination and encouragement. I am glad to have found someone with a similar journey as mine, I am sure we will get to learn a lot from each other πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

